Arthur M. Blank receives Sports Business Journal's Lifetime Achievement Award

AF_20230108_ATLvsTB_KL208104 (1)

Atlanta United's Owner and Chairman was recognized Wednesday night in a ceremony in New York City.

Atlanta United fans know Arthur M. Blank as the club owner who has ushered in a new era of soccer in the city. But Blank's impact on Atlanta sports extends far beyond the beautiful game.

The co-founder of The Home Depot purchased the Atlanta Falcons in 2002, transforming the franchise into a perennial contender. This commitment to revitalizing Atlanta sports teams continued with Blank's establishment of Atlanta United in 2014. Major League Soccer was a new venture for the city, and Blank's vision and leadership were crucial in its success.

Atlanta United quickly captured the hearts of the city, boasting sell-out crowds and passionate fan support from day one. The team's 2018 MLS Cup victory, the city's first title in more than twenty years, stands as a testament to Blank's dedication to building a winning organization.

Beyond Atlanta United, Blank's influence on Atlanta's sports scene is undeniable. He spearheaded the development of Mercedes-Benz Stadium, a state-of-the-art facility that serves as the home for both Atlanta United and the Falcons. Blank's commitment to Atlanta extends beyond sports, with his involvement in various philanthropic endeavors. Now at 81, Blank's legacy is one of transforming Atlanta into a major sports destination, and Atlanta United is a prime example of his vision and leadership. The Blank Family of Businesses now also includes AMB Sports & Entertainment, the golf team Atlanta Drive (TGL), the PGA Tour Superstore, the Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation, and the AMB West ranches up in Montana.

On Wednesday night, Blank was recognized by the Sports Business Journal with their Lifetime Achievement Award for 2024, in New York City where he was born.

Past SBJ's Lifetime Achievement Award winners

2023: Gary Bettman
2022: Robert Kraft
2021: Paul Fireman
2020: Larry Tanenbaum
2019: Tim Finchem
2018: Michael Eisner
2017: Jerry Jones
2016: Bud Selig
2015: Dick Ebersol
2014: Dan Rooney
2013: Jerry Reinsdorf
2012: Paul Tagliabue
2011: Billie Jean King
2009: Peter Ueberroth

Legacy Collection

Legacy Collection

The Legacy Collection, a player-led collection, embodies the values of unity, equality, and representation and celebrates our players who continue to shape the culture for the game.

Leagues Cup

Leagues Cup

All of the clubs from MLS and Liga MX will compete in a completely reimagined Leagues Cup: an annual, month-long tournament that runs from July 26-August 25, 2024.