News

Atlanta, Georgia to host eight FIFA World Cup 2026™ matches, including one Semifinal

ATLUTD_20220713_ATLvsRSL_DJI_0363

Atlanta, Georgia will host a total of eight FIFA World Cup 2026™ matches, including one of the Semifinals, FIFA announced Sunday. The FIFA World Cup 2026™ will be played in the United States, Canada and Mexico in the summer of 2026.

The Group Stage will consist of 72 matches, followed by the Knockout Stage, which for the first time in the history of the World Cup will have a Round of 32. From there, the Round of 16, the Quarterfinals, the Semifinals, and a Third Place Match will lead to the Final to be played Sunday, July 19 in East Rutherford, New Jersey. 

Each one of the host countries will kick off their participation at home, with Mexico City hosting the inaugural match of the competition on Thursday, June 11 with Mexico as one of the two teams in Match 1. Canada will be playing its first match in Toronto, while the U.S. will kick off the World Cup in Los Angeles for Match 4 of the tournament, both matches on Friday, June 12.

Atlanta will host five matches in the Group Stage, starting Monday, June 15 with Match 14 of the World Cup and closing off the Group Stage with the last match of the round, Match 72. The games will be played at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, the home of Atlanta United and the Atlanta Falcons of the NFL.

Atlanta's Mercedes-Benz Stadium will host the following matches on the following dates:

Group Stage

  • Match 14 - Monday, June 15
  • Match 25 - Thursday, June 18
  • Match 38 - Sunday, June 21
  • Match 50 - Wednesday, June 24
  • Match 72 - Saturday, June 27 

Round of 32

  • Match 80 - Wednesday, July 1

Round of 16

  • Match 95 - Tuesday, July 7

Semifinals

  • Match 102 - Wednesday, July 15

Below you will find the full FIFA World Cup 2026™ Schedule.

WORLDCUP_Schedule
Resurgens Kit

Resurgens Kit

Blue is a nod to the renewal of Atlanta. Yellow represents Atlanta’s vibrant history and identity. This is Atlanta United's latest community kit.

Get ready for the 2024 season!

Get ready for the 2024 season!

The 2024 MLS regular season schedule is out and Atlanta United opens the season on Saturday, February 24. Secure your seat now and join us in 2024!