About Qatar

The FIFA World Cupโ„ข is an international soccer competition that brings together the top national soccer teams in the world. The tournament comes around every four years, and the 2022 tournament is the 22nd in history.

The host this year is Qatar, a small country along the Persian Gulf. As one of five bids, Qatar was selected as the host in December 2010. It's the second time a country in Asia has hosted the event after South Korea and Japan hosted in 2002.

Due to the summer heat, the tournament this year is being held later than most. It will run from November 20-December 18. The host country kicks off the tournament with a matchup against Ecuador.

Where is Qatar?

Where is Qatar?

The State of Qatar is a peninsula located in Western Asia on the western coast of the Persian Gulf. It borders Saudi Arabia and shares maritime borders with Iran, the United Arab Emirates, and Bahrain.

Qatar is roughly 7,400 miles from Atlanta. That's about a 13-hour plane ride.

Fast Facts About Qatar

Size: With a population around 3 million, the area of Qatar is slightly smaller than the state of Connecticut.

Capital city: Doha, located on the Persian Gulf coast.

Terrain: Generally flat and sandy, with some small cliffs on the northern side.

National language: Arabic, but English is widely spoken.

Accepted pronunciation: Kuh-TAR


Who qualified?

The host country earns a spot, so Qatar automatically qualified for this year's tournament. Joining Qatar are 31 other nations to complete the field. Teams qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cupโ„ข through the World Cup qualification process. The six confederations of FIFA competed in tournaments and the top point earners earned a spot in this year's tournament. Qualification began in 2019 and played all the way into early 2022.



Germany ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช

Denmark ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ

Belgium ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช

France ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท

Croatia ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ท

Spain ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ

Serbia ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ธ

England ๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ฅ๓ ฎ๓ ง๓ ฟ

Switzerland ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ

Netherlands ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ

Poland ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ

Portugal ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น

Wales ๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ท๓ ฌ๓ ณ๓ ฟ

South America

Brazil ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท

Argentina ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ท

Ecuador ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡จ

Uruguay ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡พ


Ghana ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ญ

Senegal ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ณ

Morocco ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฆ

Tunisia ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ณ

Cameroon ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฒ


Canada ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ

Mexico ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฝ

United States ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ

Costa Rica ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ท


Qatar ๐Ÿ‡ถ๐Ÿ‡ฆ

IR Iran ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ท

South Korea ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท

Saudi Arabia ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฆ

Japan ๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต

Australia ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ

France Wins The FIFA World Cup In 2018

Who won the previous World Cupโ„ข?

The last World Cupโ„ข in 2018 took place in Russia and France is the reigning champion. On July 15, 2018, France defeated Croatia 4-2 at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow to lift the trophy. It was the second time France won the tournament. France returns to the world stage in 2022 looking to defend their crown.

In 2018, Luka Modriฤ‡ of Croatia won the Golden Ball, given to the tournament's best player. Harry Kane of England won the Golden Boot for scoring the most goals during the tournament (six).

Traveling To Qatar?

Are you traveling to Qatar for the tournament? We want to hear from you!

Reach out to one of the contacts below, or find us on one of our social channels, so we and the rest of the 17s can follow along on you journey.