Atlanta United lost 1-0 to New England Revolution Saturday at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Homegrown defender George Campbell made his first career start in MLS while Amar Sejdic made his first start with the club.

Atlanta pressured New England’s goal early and had a scoring opportunity in the 13th minute when Marcelino Moreno found Cubo Torres on right side of box following a breakaway. The Mexican forward put a shot on frame that was saved by Brad Knighton and cleared for corner. The ensuing corner kick was cleared out of the box, but Moreno collected it, side-stepped a defender and unleashed a blistering shot from 30 yards out that was pushed over the bar for another corner, which produced a shot from Anton Walkes, but was ultimately cleared away.

New England took the lead in the 18th minute through Gustavo Bou. Wilfrid Kaptoum sent in a cross from the right side to Adam Buksa, who slipped in the box, but quickly recovered to lay it off for Bou where he scored to the center of the goal after his shot took a deflection off Campbell.

Atlanta dominated possession in the second half 63-37 but couldn’t find the equalizing goal. Newcomer Sejdic put a shot on frame in the 82nd minute, as well as Moreno in the 84th, but both attempts were comfortably saved by Knighton.

Atlanta (2-4-7, 13 points) returns to action Wednesday, July 21 against FC Cincinnati at TQL Stadium (8 p.m., FS1, Sports Radio 92-9 The Game, La Mejor).


Atlanta United 0, New England Revolution 1

Mercedes-Benz Stadium

Atlanta, Georgia


Shots: 15-13 Atlanta

Shots on Target: 5-5

Corner kicks: 7-5 New England

Fouls committed: 11-10 New England

Offside: 4-1 Atlanta

Possession: 61-39 Atlanta

Passing Accuracy: 84-77 Atlanta


NER– Gustavo Bou (Adam Buksa, Wilfrid Kaptoum) 18’


ATL – Alan Franco (yellow) 69’ 

ATL – Jackson Conway (yellow) 75’

NER – Henry Kessler (yellow) 77’


Alec Kann; George Campbell, Alan Franco, Anton Walkes ©; Jake Mulraney, Amar Sejdic, Marcelino Moreno, Brooks Lennon; Erik López (Tyler Wolff – 77’), Erick Torres (Jackson Conway – 58’), Machop Chol.

Substitutes not used: Ben Lundgaard, Alex De John, Josh Bauer, Mikey Ambrose, Matheus Rossetto, Jackson Conway, Ronald Hernández.


Brad Knighton; Henry Kessler, Brandon Bye, DeJuan Jones (Christian Mafla – 72’), Andrew Farrell, Wilfrid Kaptoum (Tommy McNamara – 67’), Carles Gil ©, Matt Polster, Maciel (Arnór Ingvi Traustason – 82’), Adam Buksa, Gustavo Bou (Teal Bunbury – 83’).

Substitutes not used: Earl Edwards Jr., Emmanuel Boateng, AJ Delagarza JR, Jonathan Bell, Scott Caldwell.


Victor Rivas (referee), Corey Rockwell (assistant), Chris Elliott, (assistant), Joshua Encarnacion (fourth), Jorge Gonzalez (VAR), Diego Blas (AVAR). 




  • George Campbell made his first MLS start
  • Amar Sejdic made his first start for the club


Atlanta United joined Major League Soccer in 2017 and won the 2018 MLS Cup in just its second season, the earliest an expansion team has won the title since 1998. The club has set multiple league records including season tickets sales (36,000-plus), single-game attendance (72,548), single-season average (53,002) and total home attendance (901,033). Owned by Arthur M. Blank, and led by club President Darren Eales, Atlanta United plays its home matches at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. For more information about Atlanta United, including how to purchase season tickets, visit: www.atlutd.com, and follow @ATLUTD.