Atlanta United announce year-end roster moves

Atlanta United today announced its year-end roster moves ahead of the 2018 MLS season.

The club exercised contract options on goalkeeper Alec Kann, defender Mikey Ambrose, midfielders Julian Gressel and Andrew Wheeler-Omiunu and forward Romario Williams.

Meanwhile, the club already has existing contracts with 17 players for next season and beyond including goalkeeper Brad Guzan; defenders Michael Parkhurst, Leandro Gonzalez Pirez and Miles Robinson; midfielders Miguel Almiron, Andrew Carleton, Carlos Carmona, Chris Goslin, Kevin Kratz and Chris McCann; forwards Josef Martinez, Jacob Peterson, Brandon Vazquez and Tito Villalba. In addition, defender George Bello and forwards Lagos Kunga and Patrick Okonkwo will become Homegrown Players effective Jan. 1, 2018.

The club declined contract options on goalkeeper Alex Tambakis; defenders Mark Bloom, Zach Loyd and Tyrone Mears; midfielder Harrison Heath; and forwards Kenwyne Jones and Jeffrey Otoo. Contracts on goalkeeper Kyle Reynish and defender Bobby Boswell have expired.

Additional roster moves will be announced prior to the league’s Option Exercise Deadline.

Key 2018 offseason dates


10 – Half-day trade window (9 a.m. to 1 p.m.)
10 – Blackout period begins until conclusion of Expansion Draft
12 – Expansion Draft (2 p.m.)
12 – Free Agency begins (3 p.m.)
13 – Waiver Draft (3:30 p.m.)
15 – Re-Entry Draft Stage 1 (3 p.m.)
21 – Re-Entry Draft Stage 2 (2 p.m.)